Not Bananas Foster?

Oatmeal is not paleo. Oats are a grain, and they are high-carbohydrate.  I don’t eat them often. However, they are gluten free, and they don’t make me feel bad.  So once in a while I’ll eat them.  Especially right now, when breast feeding the baby has me eating and drinking like a horse (I meant that figuratively, but since it’s oats I guess it’s literal, too).

On a recent oats-eating occasion, I came up with a rolled oats recipe that tasted just like bananas foster.  I haven’t had bananas foster in years, but this is what I remember it tasting like.  This replacement is not particularly healthy, but it was good enough to share for anyone who is not watching carbohydrates or sugar (sugar can be be lowered by omitting the honey).

The ingredients are:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup boiled water
  • dash of sea salt
  • a chunk of grass fed butter
  • some honey (optional)
  • one ripe (or even overripe) banana.  Note: I usually abhor bananas once they’re no longer tinged slightly green. But for this, I used a banana with brown spots (yuck) and it was surprisingly perfect.

I put the oats in a large bowl, and added 1 cup of pre-boiled water. (We have a Zojirushi hot water kettle so we have hot water anytime, at the push of a button. I’ve probably mentioned before that I love the Zojirushi!)

Add a good-sized dash of sea salt and stir. Chop the banana and stir it in as well. If you’re a protein powder person, add a scoop of protein powder.  Microwave the bowl for about 30 seconds, stir, and then microwave for another 30 seconds. Note: Don’t just put it on for a whole minute and ignore it. If it boils over in the microwave, it’ll be a huge mess.

By now you should have cooked oats, with melty banana mixed in. To the top, add your dollop of grass fed butter and let it melt. Pour some honey on top.  Enjoy your dessert/breakfast!

And don’t forget to make sure it’s a gym day when you eat this. If you don’t normally eat a lot of carbohydrates, you’ll be bouncing off the walls.  😀

In other news, today was my first day back at the office after maternity leave, and it was so sad to leave the baby. SO SO SAD. But, we all survived, and hopefully the routine will get easier with time.

Leave a Reply

