Month three of being a mother!

My sweet little baby is almost three months old.   Here are some thoughts on being the mother of a three-month-old.

  1. My dietIt’s bad!  Breastfeeding makes me unreasonably hungry.  I have not been cooking much. I crave starchy things, and sweet things.  I want to eat my good paleo foods, but sometimes end up far from that goal. Pizza has been consumed, folks. Despite all that, I am not being too hard on myself.  I keep reminding myself that it’s only been three months. When I go back to the office (in just one week!), it will be so much easier to eat well.  (There is a brand-new Whole Foods in Downtown Miami, about a block from my office… lucky me!)
  2. My post-baby wardrobe: I am glad I didn’t get rid of my maternity wear!  Due to my poor diet, I am wearing lots of stretchy pants.  I tried to fit into one of my pre-pregnancy suits, and the skirt was way too tight.  Not cute.  I do have larger/stretchier clothes to wear in the short-term.  Another question: What do I wear so that I can pump breast milk at work without getting fully naked in my office??? Well, I found plain black nursing camisoles, and bought lots of them!
  3. Body image: I know I am heavier than normal. I know I have some extra belly skin, and big tiger-stripe stretch marks. Yet surprisingly, I feel good about myself.  Maybe I am finally being easier on myself, knowing what this body is capable of.  I gestated a human, gave birth without any meds (!), and now I am making food to keep the human alive! Yes, I do want to reduce my fat percentage and increase my strength back to pre-pregnancy levels. But in the meantime, I feel good about myself!
  4. Leaving baby:  This is going to be SO hard.  I like my career, my job, and my co-workers, but if I won the lottery I’d pay off my pesky student loans and be a full-time stay-at-home mother in a heartbeat!  To prepare to go back to the office, I have started stocking breast-milk in the freezer, and experimenting with bottles to find one that doesn’t make the baby scream in rage.  I finally found one that she hates less than the others (the adiri nxgen is best so far).
  5. Child care:  Mr. Husband will be able to spend 2-3 days per week with the baby,  plus the mornings of the other days. I’ll come home early on the afternoons when he has to go into work (at least to start), but I may need to find a part-time nanny to work 8-12 hours a week.  After some initial research I am realizing that this is going to be a HUGE expense!  How do people manage it?!   Wow!
  6. The baby:  She’s amazing.  She is tall! She learns new things every day.  She gets stronger every day. She is already trying to communicate, making little sounds with accompanying facial expressions. She has learned to grab and hold objects.  I’d never spent much time with babies before. Turns out, they’re a lot of fun!  I know there was a time when I didn’t know this little person, but now it feels like I’ve always known her.
  7. Life in general:  Things can be tough: she gets fussy, I get tired.  But it’s not really all that tough.  I feel very lucky for every day I have with my wonderful husband and healthy child.

Happy Sunday! I’ll be watching the Oscars, even though I didn’t watch the nominated movies. If it’s not out on cable, I haven’t seen it!

Leave a Reply

