I passed the Glucose Tolerance Test!

I am very happy and relieved to report that I passed the Glucose Tolerance Test “with flying colors.”  In fact, my glucose levels were lower when I finished the test (~60) than when I started (~90).  Apparently that’s a good thing.

The moral of the story for me is that I definitely should NOT have taken the advice to “eat low carb” the week before the GCS test.  I think maybe the midwife suspected that my diet was a Standard American Diet. Yes, if I ate fast food and cookies and drank milkshakes and soda all day, it might have made sense to take it easy on that stuff prior to the GCS/GTT.  But since I already had a very low carbohydrate diet (comparatively to a S.A.D.), doing the ultra low carb thing for a week did me zero favors when I chugged all that nasty glucose.

So when I instead increased my regular carb intake for several days, by adding in oatmeal w/ cinnamon 3 times a day AND some rice, I was able to switch from fat-burning mode, and primed my metabolism to demonstrate that I can in fact digest glucose — even though it’s not my preference to do so, and I WILL go back to my regular diet now, thank you very much.  When I ate all the extra carbs, it didn’t feel great.  I had too much energy to feel comfortable sitting still at my desk all day, and I got ravenously hungry before each regular meal.  Yet I didn’t have any great stamina or strength at the gym.  And I didn’t seem to sleep as well as I usually do.

Caveat:  None of this is my medical advice to anyone.  It’s just my personal experience w/ this annoying prenatal test. But maybe it will be interesting/useful to someone else facing the GCS/GTT.

I did have someone ask me “So, do you really think you should be trying to ‘trick’ the test like that?”  My answer is that it’s not about tricking the test — at all. In fact, if I had gestational diabetes, I’d want to know.  But I truly believed that I did not have it.  Rather, my hypothesis was that I could put myself into an efficient carb-digesting mode to demonstrate that I do not have it.  Due to the nature of this particular test, there really was no other way to demonstrate this ability.  It seems my hypothesis was proven correct. Also, I believe that if I did have gestational diabetes, my experiment would not have worked, and the test would have showed insulin resistance, as the first test did.

Anyway, I am super relieved that my human science experiment is over.  Pass the bacon, avocado & kale wraps, please.  🙂

Leave a Reply

