Korean-Style Grass-Fed Beef Meatballs

Whole Foods Market (WFM) had a sale on grass-fed ground beef ($2 off per pound!), so I took advantage and bought a lot of pounds!

Some I froze, but I decided to use three pounds of it to make a modified recipe that WFM had handed out as a serving suggestion for the beef.  The suggested recipe looked good, but used too much sugar for my taste.  I used honey, and nixed the soy sauce in favor of gluten free tamari and coconut aminos.  Here are some photos of the process.

Ingredients:

Meatball Ingredients

Mixed:

Mixing Meatballs

Made into balls – I used an ice cream scoop to keep them uniform in size.

Ice Cream Scoop

3 pounds makes a lot!

Meatball Army

I used a silicon basting brush and brushed these with coconut oil.  I put them in an oven at 350 degrees. About 20 minutes in, I checked them and they were swimming in oil and juice, so I poured it off, and put them back in for another 10 minutes or so. Then I poured off MORE grease and juice, and put them back in the oven (but turned off the heat, and just let them sit in there for a while).  Right now the grease vat (pictured below) is in the fridge so the grease layer can solidify… I’ll separate the grease and use the juice if it’s good.

Grease and Juice!

Mmmmm... Meatballs

 

Here’s the finished product.  While these were baking, I made a cucumber-onion-vinegar-oil salad/relish, which is FANTASTIC with these meatballs.  Here’s the starting “recipe” (with an oil stain on it), to which I added an egg, subbed honey, subbed out the soy sauce, and used a red pepper relish from the Asian Market, and used white onion, rather than the suggested green onion, since the onion was mixed up in the balls.  Great result!  Thanks to WFM-North Miami for the inspiration, and great deal on grass fed beef!

The Recipe W/ Oil Stain

 

2 comments

  1. This looks like a good option for company. You could make the meatballs ahead and pop in the oven when guests arrive! It seems like everyone loves Korean-style flavors.

    1. I think they’d be great for company! Meatballs are a crowd-pleaser anyway, but this one has a nice flavor.

Leave a Reply

