It’s a Pancake Kind of Day

I agree with the folks who say that figuring out how to make brownies and pastries out of nuts and berries and coconut flour defeats the real purpose of eating paleo style…..

HOWEVER. Sometimes, I just really, really want something that’s not in the spirit of paleo.  Like pancakes.

Wheat flour pancakes are not an option for me. I could eat them. I wouldn’t instantly keel over from eating a serving of wheat pancakes.  But there’s a good chance I’d get some wicked acid reflux, feel bad for a few hours, and fall into a “food coma” from the sugar.

This morning I was in no mood to follow a recipe (even more than usual).  After using google to read though a few recipes, my eyes were glazing over (I should have had coffee first).  I just wanted pancakes — NOW! — so I hopped into the kitchen.  I used an egg beater to throw together the following:

  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • about 3 tsp melted grass-fed cow’s butter
  • about 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 4 eggs (approximately? I first tried to use my cuisinart immersion blender whisk attachment, and eggs went everywhere, so I had to add two more eggs to replace the ones on the counter. That’s when I switched to my hand-operated egg beater).
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup coconut milk. I used “light” coconut milk, only because I had bought it by accident and this seemed like a good way to use it up.  I added 1/3 cup, and then added a splash more to get the batter to the right consistency.
  • a splash of vanilla.
  • A squeeze of honey from the honey bear
  • a little sea salt

And lo and behold, PANCAKES happened!  They were pretty darned good, and got the thumbs-up from my husband, who smothered them with mascarpone and passion fruit jelly.   The 3 strips of thick southern raised bacon, basted egg, and kale on the side were a nice bonus.

Now pardon me, as I have more coffee to enjoy.  HAPPY WEEKEND!

Leave a Reply

