Ground Chicken Sliders and Meatballs

Holy cow. Or chicken, rather.  I love when I surprise myself in the kitchen, when I whip something up that comes out SO nicely, I want to to grab someone and make them TASTE THIS!!!

But here I am, all alone, so I’ll have to write about it instead.

Publix had their ground “Greenwise” chicken at a good price tonight, so on impulse I grabbed 3 lbs.  I thought I’d brown it up, and use it to top salads for the rest of the week.  But I already did that two weeks in a row with turkey.  Boring.

Instead, I decided to make meatballs! And then I got tired of making meatballs so I fried up the rest as sliders.  They came out GREAT!   Here is what I did:

  1. Preheated convection toaster oven to 400 degrees.  Coconut-oiled my foil-lined pan.
  2. Mixed up the following items, and patted them into balls:
    • 3 lbs. ground chicken (it’s at least partially dark meat… yum)
    • Some chopped organic kale that I bought frozen and had heated for my dinner… it was a perfect use for my leftovers!
    • 2 eggs.
    • Several cloves of fresh garlic, run through a garlic press.
    • Dried onion powder and some chopped, dried onion
    • sea salt and pepper
    • a little bit of cumin

I lined up the meatballs in my baking dish, and convection-baked them. They made a bunch of juice, which I poured off.  Then, I flipped the meatballs over.

As for the sliders, I heated some butter in a pan, and sauteed the sliders until browned. As for timing, I dunno? Depends on a lot of factors, but if you’re worried about whether either the meatballs or sliders are done, use a meat thermometer!  For me, I know “done” when I see it and I’ve never been sick yet (knock on wood).   For the meatballs, I want them firm, and certainly not pink in the middle! Anyway, slicing one open “to make sure” they were done gives me a perfect excuse to eat one.

Here’s the result:

Chicken Balls

Leave a Reply

