I want food… W.H.A.I.?

This morning I fired up the old email, to find the Robb Wolf newsletter in my inbox.   I get a lot of newsletters. Sometimes I read them, sometimes I don’t.  I am glad I had some extra time this morning to read this one, which asked:  “What Kind of Hungry Are You?” 

It was a good article, and a good reminder.  I definitely find myself wanting to eat just because of a particular situation, and not because of true hunger. Sometimes I am bored. Sometimes I want something fun to eat while I watch a movie.  Sometimes it’s “time” to eat, so I eat even if I’m not hungry.   ETC., ETC., ETC.

So today at lunch, I paid attention.  At noon, I looked at the clock, and automatically thought “FOOOOOOOD.”

Then, I stopped and asked myself “W.H.A.I.?” or “Which Hungry Am I?”

The answer was:  “Automatic lunchtime hungry.”  And once I REALLY thought about it, I realized I wasn’t physically hungry at all. I ended up having lunch a good hour later.

Tonight, my husband and I went to dinner at one of our favorite restaurants, Beer & Burger Joint.  I had a great spinach salad with warm bacon dressing, and a fantastic bun-less burger.  Plenty of food.  But afterward, I usually get an urge for a scoop of ice cream (or, if I am really out of my gourd, a root beer float).  This, despite the fact that I KNOW I’ll get an uncomfortable sugar rush from it, and end up regretting the decision.

Tonight I asked myself, “W.H.A.I.?”  The answer was, “automatic dessert craving.” And no, I was not hungry at all.  Instead, I ruminated on the fresh cherries and dried mango at home, which I enjoy eating, and which doesn’t cause any ill-effects like the sugary ice cream would.

As my Uncle G. likes to say:  “Hunger is the best appetizer.”

Leave a Reply

