Organic chicken livers

Forget soggy cereal. Liver is the real breakfast of champions.   I had organic chicken livers for breakfast for two days in a row.  Between me and husband they got eaten up, and I am regretting not making a double batch!

My recipe is super-easy.   Here is what I did:

  • Preheated the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Cut each organic chicken liver into uniform pieces (in half for most of them).
  • Opened up a package of “the good bacon” and cut it in half.  For each piece of liver, I wrapped a half-slice of bacon around so that the ends met underneath the liver. If it was a small piece of bacon, or a larger liver, I added a second piece of bacon cross-wise.
  • Lined up the wrapped livers on a parchment-lined baking sheet, and baked them for about 30 minutes.
  • Then I broiled the livers for just a couple of minutes to crisp up the bacon. If you do this step, keep a close eye on your livers. You don’t want your livers (or your parchment paper) to burn.
  • Finally, I drizzled these with a little bit of organic tamari (use coconut aminos to avoid the soy).  You could also marinate the livers ahead of time.

I had 3 of them for breakfast this morning, cold out of the fridge. Delicious, and satisfying.  I ate them wrapped in kale for an extra layer of goodness (and no greasy fingers).   I love eggs for breakfast, but this recipe is good for a change-up, and for making liver appealing.

Leave a Reply

