Easy Sunday-Night Garlic-Parsley Chicken

On a relaxed Sunday evening, I like to cook something easy that will come in handy as leftovers for the next few days. One recipe that keeps popping up (so it must be good) is my oven-roasted Garlic Parsley Chicken.  I discovered this recipe by accident, when I made a too-large, ginormous batch of chimichurri for a family cookout. It was going to go bad if I didn’t use it, so I just dumped it over a pan of chicken, baked it, and was genuinely amazed at how much I liked my creation.

The chimichurri is easy. I’ve posted about it before. Combine one bunch of fresh curly parsley (chopped), a few cloves of garlic (run through a press or minced), extra virgin olive oil (add a few glugs, then add more if you like), and sea salt and cracked pepper to taste.  You can make this up ahead of time and keep it in the fridge to serve over steak, chicken etc., or you can mix it in a bowl on the fly just for your recipe, as I did tonight.

The chicken part is also easy:

First, you put a little of the sauce/parsley in the bottom your baking dish, and add your chicken on top.  I use chicken breasts because as leftovers they’re easy to slice up over a salad, but other parts would work, too.   Note:  I closely pack the chicken. It helps the chicken turn out moist.  If your dish is too large to pack them together, use a smaller dish.  Tonight I used a 9” round cake tin. Chicken cake!

Second, after arranging the chicken, coat the chicken with the rest of the parsley/garlic olive oil and bake at 350 degrees.  How long depends on how much chicken you used.  OMG, I always do this.  Sorry.  These aren’t “real” recipes, I know.  I think it takes as much as an hour when the chicken is packed together, like with tonight’s “chicken cake.”  If you don’t pack the chicken, it won’t take as long.

And that’s all….  This is maybe not something you make for a dinner party where you want to impress everyone. But it’s easy, tastes great, and the baking garlic smells so wonderful. You’ll feel very accomplished for having done so little work.

Maybe serve with mashed cauliflower.   But over the next couple of days, there’s chicken at the ready for lunches, etc.  I like it sliced over a simple kale salad.  My husband makes burritos constantly, so he slices the chicken, adds his own blend of “taco seasonings” (chili powder, cumin, garlic all the usual suspects), and melts cheese over it.   I suppose I could do that and make Mexican-style lettuce or kale wraps.  There are lots of possibilities, for very little work.

Happy Sunday, all.   It’s a dark and stormy night here in Miami, so after chicken dinner I’ll be relaxing  with my Nook book and unwinding for the week ahead.

Leave a Reply

