Spaghetti Squash and Bison Bolognese

When I saw ground bison at WFM, I decided to give it a try.   Here was my lazy recipe:

“Spaghetti”

Slice your squash lengthwise, and scoop out the seeds. I separated the seeds from the pulp for roasting. My squash had cooking instructions stuck to it. I buttered each half a bit, and roasted them on a foil-lined pan for an hour at 375 degrees.  After it cools a bit, use a fork to comb out the spaghetti strands.

Sauce

Brown your bison on medium heat with some chopped onion (and a little oil if you like). If you use olive oil, use only low-to-medium heat.  Of course, the protein doesn’t have to be bison. It could be ground beef, chicken, turkey, etc…. maybe whatever’s on SALE!

If you’re feeling extremely lazy, you can then pour in a jar of unsweetened marinara sauce.  And you’re done. You may want to give it some time for the flavors to mix together.

If you’re feeling only slightly less lazy, add the following to your meat and onions:

  • one small can/jar/container of tomato paste
  • one large can/jar/container of stewed tomatoes
  • a glug or two of olive oil
  • a glug or 4 from that old bottle of red wine in your fridge. Cheap wine is fine.
  • Herbs, to taste. Fresh, or dried:  Garlic/garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, basil, sea salt, black pepper. I used dried. I did a little of each herb, stirred, and tasted, and then added more.
  • Let the sauce bubble on low for as long as you can wait, stirring occasionally.  I could hardly wait at all, but the sauce was fine.  It will be thicker if you cook it longer.  You can add water if the sauce gets too thick.

Serve the sauce over the spaghetti squash, of course!  I was in a cheesy mood, and topped mine with grated parmesan. You could also drizzle with a bit more olive oil.  As I said on Twitter, I doubt any Italian grandmothers are going to approve of my recipe, but I genuinely like it!

One comment

Leave a Reply

