Paleo Chicken Coconut Curry

Curries and Paleo go great together: protein, veggies, and spices.  If you want a replacement for the bed of rice you’d get at your favorite Thai or Indian restaurant, there’s always cauliflower rice!

I had a bunch of chicken legs and thighs in the fridge, 2 cans of coconut milk in my cabinet, and had been craving a curry. So, I Googled “chicken coconut curry.” My inexact cooking style is to read a few different recipes, and then come up with something based on what I read.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.  Tonight, the results were favorable!

Here is what I did:   I sauteed chopped onion, a few cloves of minced garlic, and a 1″ cube of ginger, grated,  in a couple of tablespoons of organic ghee, on medium heat.  Then I added two cans of coconut milk, one can of tomato paste, a couple of spoonfuls of curry powder, and stirred it all together with a bit of water.

In a separate pan, I added a bit more ghee, and sauteed my chicken parts on medium-high heat to get them well on their way.  As I turned them in the pan, I dusted them with curry powder.  I added them to my simmering coconut sauce. Then, I sliced up a red pepper and a yellow pepper, and cut the ends off some snow peas.  Once the chicken was done (I’d say I gave it about an hour, simmering), I turned the heat to low, and added the peppers and snow peas and let it all sit for awhile.  Oh, and I added sea salt and pepper at some point in there.

I thought it turned out great, and it’s a recipe that can be customized in many ways.  Viva la curry!

Leave a Reply

