Primal-ish Scones: Recipe in Progress

IMAG0715

Before paleo, I had a “famous scone recipe” which was actually my Aunt’s recipe by way of her godson, by way of Alice Waters cookbook and her lovely Berkely, CA restaurant, Chez Panisse.  Simple, quick, delicious, and a crowd-pleaser:  a slightly sweetened biscuit, with the added sweetness of dried fruit (apricots are best).

I have been wanting a replacement for my scones recipe. Finally, I decided to start fooling around with my tried-and-true recipe.  The initial results are…. promising?

This recipe is not paleo: It contains a pint of heavy cream!  Nor would it be suggested for someone trying to take off weight. But for someone (me) who wants a solid scone recipe without a wheat-bomb, this on is one it’s way to making that person (me) very happy!  I’ll recount the recipe below, in case you’re interested in this stage (and so I remember later). NOTE: unlike my old gluteny scones, these are extremely delicate when the come out of the oven. Like, bat your lashes and they’ll crumble. But they do come together better once they cool.  To store them, I picked up all of the scones by gently lifting the parchment paper, and setting the whole thing inside a tupperware. The next round will include a substitution of honey for raw sugar, and then I want to try to find another binding agent. Egg, perhaps?

Here goes:

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 1 pint heavy cream (I used a delicious pasture raised, organic version, but very pasturized)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 and 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 cup “sweetening agent” (I used raw sugar because the original recipe uses raw sugar, but honey works, and I think maple syrup would be good… but I am taking the changes one step at a time, so I kept the raw sugar)
  • About 1/2 cup of dried organic apricots, chopped (or other dried fruit)

And then keep separately:

  • About a pat of grass-fed butter, melted, for the topping.
  • About a spoonful of the raw sugar crystals, for the topping.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Mix the dry ingredients, and add the wet ingredient(s), and stir until it comes together. This will quickly get hard like a big boulder. Dump the contents of your bowl onto a smooth surface (I use one of those flexible plastic cutting boards). Mash the boulder into a circle, about 1″ tall.

Coat the top of the circle with the pat of melted butter, and sprinkle the top with the spoonful of raw sugar crystals (not sure how I’ll ultimately replace this… it adds a nice texture to the top).

Slice the circle into 8 slices, and lift the slices like pie onto your parchment-covered baking sheet, spaced out so they don’t touch.  Cook for 17 minutes, until the slices are golden.

Delicious! Gluten free. Not paleo. Not quite primal. But getting there…

 

Leave a Reply

