Kimchi!

Since the first time I tried kimchi when I was around 10 years old, I was hooked. If you’ve never had this spicy, fermented, Korean side dish, I am sorry for you. Except that for many people, it’s an acquired taste. And even for people who love it, it really smells strong (garlic, onions, cabbage).  In fact, the folks in my kimchi-appreciating circle affectionately call it “Stank”…

Anyhow, my best friend’s mom, and her sister, both make excellent kimchi. And my best friend’s little brother has also perfected the technique (I know, because I got a jar of his own homemade kimchi for Christmas).

But even though I jones for the sour, spicy, crunchy, salty, cabbagey, fragrant dish all year long, I had never tried to make kimchi for myself.  Until yesterday.  Here is proof (in reverse order).

UPDATE:  It tastes the way it should! So happy!

Finished Jars Hand Mixing Action shot Before the Mixing Post-brined, chopped napa cabbage Chopped Napa Cabbage (bring on the brine)

Leave a Reply

