Budget Paleo: Work Lunches, Part 2

Here is my second installment of telling you how I throw together my budget paleo lunches.

Budget

There’s nothing so innovative or groundbreaking here. But this is how I do it.

This one, in particular, is super simple, and involves zero cooking.  My stomach was sad from a weekend of non-paleo foods (mainly dim sum to celebrate the Lunar New Year), so I was ready for simple.

  • $5.49 – Big tub of greens. I got organic field greens, 16oz.   That a huge amount of greens!
  • $5.99 – Rotisserie Chicken from the supermarket deli on sale, “naked” if it’s an option, or something like lemon pepper over a sugary bbq sauce.
  • $2.50 – Little tub of organic tomatoes, on sale 2 for $5.00.

That’s brings the total to $14.39 (including tax on the chicken since it’s a prepared food). One chicken may not be enough for 5 days of lunches. If you really want to go wild on the chicken, eat one the first half of the week, and get a second for the second half.  And don’t eat 5-day-old chicken. You can throw Thursday and Friday’s chicken portions in baggies for later in the week.

So, you can either get a second chicken, or, if Haas avocados are on sale 10 for $10 like they were recently, grab 5 of those, and luxuriate in a creamy avocado lunch.  That brings your total to either $19.39, OR $20.80.

Either way, that’s right around $4/day for lunch!  If you go wild and get the second chicken AND avocados (on sale), you’re only up to $5/day.

Again, I bring all my ingredients, leave them in a bag in the fridge, and make my salads in my happy wooden salad bowl, and if I want more fat than the avocado provides, I add some of the olive oil that I stock in my desk at all times.

For a week of recovery from Acid Reflux Sunday, this was a perfect simple week of lunches to get me back on track.

Happy luncheoning!

Leave a Reply

