Paleo Croutons, Sort of…

Just cooked lunch.  Mahi-Mahi (non-Flipper-dolphin) baked, with a big romaine & tomato salad.

I decided to make “croutons” with green plantains (“platanos”).

Well, “decided” may be stretching the truth.  I intended to make “tostones” but my plantain-smashing technique broke up the plantains into bits.  However, I think the adjusted product came out great!

Here is what I did:

  • Heated coconut oil in a pan (careful the amount you use, because the plantains will soak up all the oil… I used about 1 tablespoon for one plantain)
  • Peeled the GREEN plantain.  I chopped the unpeeled plantain into 1″ segments, and then peeled the ring of peel away.
  • Slice then, or smash the plantains.  There is a tool to use for smashing plantains (called a “tostonera”).  They sell it at the grocery stores in Miami.  If you don’t have one, improvise.
  • Fry them in the pan on medium to medium high heat. I seasoned them with garlic powder, paprika, and sea salt. If you use garlic while the plantains are still cooking, take care not to burn the garlic.  It will cook a lot faster than the plantains.
  • They’ll turn deep golden brown. Since I was doing crouton crumbles, once they got soft in the middle I continued to smash them with a fork & fry them, to get them crispy all the way through.
  • They’re done when you are satisfied with the crispiness-level.  Spread them on a paper towel or brown paper bag to drain excess oil, if you like.  If you didn’t season them while cooking, season them now.

Someone has probably come up with this idea before me, but I was glad to have accidentally “invented” it today.

If you’re working on weight loss, keep in mind that plantains do have higher carbohydrate-and-sugar levels (around the same or slightly higher than a sweet potato, according to what I just looked up).  Still, it’s better than grain-y croutons for a crunchy salad topping.

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

