Squirrel meat

I grew up in the country, so I’ve had squirrel meat multiple times.  I even know, generally, how to clean their little carcasses to get them ready to fry up in a pan.   As I recall, the meat is dark, gamey, and there are lots of little bones to eat around.

My husband said today that I could shoot the jerky squirrels in our backyard. Seriously, they are jerks.  One ran up a tree branch to try to urinate on him.  He stepped away in time to avoid the attack.

While he was probably joking, I did think about it for a few seconds.  (Virtually) free food!   But don’t worry, I am not going to do it, for a few reasons:

1) It must be contrary to the laws of my municipality to hunt in my backyard.

2) The rule in my family is, if we kill it, we’ve got to eat it.  I’d be the one to clean it.  Which I would 100% be willing to do if it was a matter of survival, but right now, it’s not.

3)  What if I didn’t kill it, but only wounded it?  That would suck. I’d have to chase down the wounded squirrel to finish the job.

4) What if the jerk squirrel is a mom with a litter of squirrel babies?  I’d only find out when I discover milk-laden squirrel teats. Awww, dang.

5) Would neighborhood squirrel meat be full of parasites? I don’t want to know.

Anyway, it did make me think about food production, and how most people (including me) are so removed from it nowadays. I remember watching animals be killed and cleaned, or pulling carrots straight from the dirt in our family’s massive garden, and just brushing off the ants and dirt before eating them. *yes I ate dirt*

Now meat (usually) comes from some unknown place (factory farm?) and was slaughtered some unknown time ago.  Carrots are washed in chlorine (just looked it up via snopes to make sure I’m not spreading mis-information).  I just spent $7 for a carton of eggs from pasture-raised chickens, because I have some notion they’re better for me and the world than the cheap-o eggs.  I can’t raise my own egg-laying chickens because chickens are not allowed in my semi-fancy neighborhood (although that’s changing in some places).

I don’t know the answer.  I don’t even know all the question(s).  For now, I’m going to skip the squirrel meat.

Leave a Reply

