Whole 30 Sugar Detox and Stuff

Yes, I said “no resolutions.”

But a 30 day kick-off the-New-Year-right, get-back-on-the-best-possible-track plan? That just might work out.

The title above is mix of the various ideas that have filtered into my subconscious by reading my paleo lawyer twitter feed (the Practical Paleo lady does the sugar detox plan, and the It Starts With Food folks do the Whole 9 and Whole 30 stuff).

It Starts With Food is on my reading list, but I haven’t gotten to it yet (I am working on a very LONG book in a historical fiction series).  I really should have signed up for the 21 day thing (only $21?), but didn’t plan ahead.  So, I am doing my own thing.

Though the house is full of non-paleo leftovers from a family party (dulce de leche cheesecake, black beans & saffron rice, candy, cookies, San Pellegrino sodas).

I had a dinner salad with chopped collard greens, churrasco steak, avocado, tomato, and olives stuffed with garlic cloves. And a single-orchard extra-virgin olive oil.  I wanted something else, having grown accustomed to The Season Of Desserts, so I had a coffee from the Keurig machine (new present), and a bowl of pecans, cashews, and (mostly) unsweetened coconut shavings.

Who else is doing something different to start the New Year?

Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

