5, 4, 3, 2, 1…..

Another year ends. A new year begins. I am getting older. This year I turn 37!  Holy crap.

2012 has been quite a year. I “went paleo” in June, and my life changed. I’ve learned a lot…

One thing I have learned this year is that older does not mean progressively fatter and sicker. At least not by default.

I’ve learned that it’s not a foregone conclusion that one MUST gain weight over the holidays. This is the first holiday season I did not gain weight. I didn’t lose weight either, but that can be explained very easily by my feast-eating.

On the other hand, I avoided cookies, cakes, stuffing, bread, crackers, questionable gravy, cinnamon buns… Plus, I took it super easy on the alcohol (almost none).   And it wasn’t hard to do, and I didn’t feel deprived (oh, I gorged myself plenty enough on turkey and veggies and sweet potatoes… including a few of those deadly melted marshmallows on top).  I even ate some cheese. Ok, for real, I ate a TON of cheese. And I totally ate “too much” food (in the sense that feast-eating is not to be done on a regular basis, unless one is a lumberjack).  However, even with the cheesy debauchery, I didn’t feel sick over it, nor did I have a “food hangover” the next day. As good as the shortbread cookies looked, and smelled, I remembered how my belly ached the last time I decided to “splurge” on some white-flour baked item…

So, another thing I’ve learned is that it’s not a “splurge” if it makes me feels bad.

I learned that many of the foods I thought were healthy are actually full of unhealthy additives, irritants, and are harmful and naturally allergenic.  Canola oil? Evil.  I’ve learned that other demonized foods might not be so bad.  Saturated fat? Not so evil.

I learned that there is still SO much more to learn about food science, nutrition, and health, and that the U.S. Government’s food triangle (which I tried to follow at one time) is complete crap, at least for me.

I learned what “paleo” is, and I’ve learned how it seems to really work for me: for health, for weight loss, for energy, and as a sustainable lifestyle rather than a “diet”…

Which brings me to new years resolutions…. this is the first time in a LONG time that my new years resolutions won’t involve food or exercise.  Oh, I have not forgotten that I have a lot of weight to lose.  But this year I don’t need “resolutions”… eating this way is what I do. Exercise is what I do.

Now, I’ve got to come up with some more interesting resolutions… Happy 2013!

2 comments

  1. I just caught up on this post here. It’s funny — I decided that my new years resolutions this year were not going to be about food either! I’m going to keep eating paleo, keep making new recipes and keep blogging, but lay off the “resolutions”.
    http://nourishpaleofoods.com/2012/12/31/fueled-by-paleo-2013/

    It’s great to hear you are doing so well! Here’s to 2013!

  2. Great post, thanks for sharing! Congrats on an especially great year, and may you find a way to top it in 2013.

Leave a Reply

