How To Be Sick And Paleo At The Same Time?

I may be halfway smart, but I am clearly no genius. Otherwise, I would have worn a mask when I was doing a job that involved breathing in a bunch of dust and mold.  Now, I am sick.  It’s the typical thing, where it starts in the sinuses, causes a sore throat, and then moves to the chest.  Just in time for Art Basel weekend, too.

Thank goodness for Mucinex D.  I will put up with pharmacists scrutinizing me as a potential methamphetamine manufacturer, to get this stuff. I don’t know if it’s paleo. Don’t care too much.  🙂

But what to eat and drink?  My old standard: Soup and Lemon-Lime Gatorade.   Yep, plain old Campbell’s soup with wheat flour noodles, and Gatorade with high fructose corn syrup.

I’ll let my rules slide a little when I am ill, but I can’t go back to HFCS and full-on gluten.

Some paleo folks might say “bone broth!” Yes, that sounds great. But when I am sick, I can’t fathom getting down and dirty with a chicken carcass and waiting hours for broth.  I want heat-n-eat.

I really craved a spicy thai chicken coconut soup. I got a carton of organic chicken broth, a can of coconut milk, and green onions. I tried to get lemongrass, but my Publix only carries the lemongrass paste, which has oils and other additives. So, I just got green onions instead. I forgot cilantro, but I did get red chilis. I had garlic on hand.

At home, I dumped my broth in the saucepan on medium heat, and added a big dollop of coconut milk (it was still cool and solidified).  I smashed a couple of cloves of garlic, and threw them in.  I seeded and chopped up a red chili, and threw that in. I squeezed a lime into the soup. I added some dried cilantro.  I chopped up a green onion, and when the soup was hot, I added the green onion and cracked black pepper.

I poured the entire enormous soup into a bowl and slurped it all up. Calories? I dunno how many were in the soup. Don’t care. It was good.

To drink….. What can replace my (formerly) beloved Lemon-Lime Gatorade?  When I am sick, I want something more than water.  I don’t drink much juice anymore. Too much sugar… it makes me feel bad.  But coconut water feels OK. So does water with just a bit of 100% cranberry juice (I buy Lakewood). Yes, it’s super tart. But I like it when diluted.  Maybe coconut water and 100% cranberry would be perfect!

Then today, I got salty, greasy Chinese food for lunch (a QUART of hot and sour soup, and spicy chicken). I was so thirsty after that, I downed water and green tea the rest of the afternoon. I don’t want to think of all the junk in that food, but I broke out into a gratifying sweat as I ate it.

Finally, sleep. Sleep heals.  Or at least, that’s what I am counting on. I am about to head to bed soon.

I wish I had more ideas. If anyone else had any, please send them along.

Cough, cough.

Leave a Reply

