Mayo + Clinic…

I have not been to the grocery store for a while (trying to clean out the fridge/pantry). So, this weekend I found myself with nothing in the house I *wanted* to eat.

Broccoli. Eh. Organic tinned chicken. Eh.  Sardines.  No.

I couldn’t  be  bothered with anything.

So, I decided to make some mayonnaise, or mayo-type sauce, using what I had on hand.  Turns out, lots of things become appetizing with a nice sauce.

To do this, I took one Omega-3 egg, and added the juice of a lime. This is where the “Clinic” comes in. I nearly chopped off the tip of my finger trying to cut into the lime (the rind had dried out).  I don’t know how it happened, but suddenly the knife was halfway through my finger-meat and finger nail.  AHHHHHHH. It was bad enough that I momentarily considered heading to the urgent care clinic.

I just decided to tough it out. After all, that sauce wasn’t going to finish itself.  I ran the finger under water, wrapped it in a paper towel, and applied pressure as I continued my mayo-sauce.

To the lime and egg, I used my Cuisinart hand blender to create an emulsion, adding about a cup of fancy-pants olive oil, plus sea salt, and dry mustard. If you don’t like a strong olive flavor, stay away from the fancy, single orchard stuff. It’s strong! I love it. I do think this sauce could have benefited from some garlic… but as I was severely injured, and hungry, I didn’t have the gumption to do any more chopping.

 

I used my finished sauce as a dip for the broccoli florets, and added a dollop to the tinned chicken, and some humongous caper berries.  Excellent!  I have some left over for later.

By the way, I just adore that hand blender. It was a wedding present. For probably two years, I didn’t use it.  Once I finally tried it, the thing barely gets put away.   I’ll be traveling for Thanksgiving, and the hand blender is coming with me.

The moral of the story is: “A good, fresh sauce can change your opinion of the contents of your pantry.”

Also: “For optimal enjoyment of your meal, practice safe knife habits!”

Leave a Reply

