Left. Over. Turkey.

I know a lot of people who say they look forward to having lots of leftover turkey, and they get a squirrely look in their eye when they see someone heaping up their plate on Thanksgiving Day. That muscle in their eyelid starts to twitch.

Folks, I have discovered the cure to that ailment. Make a turkey before Thanksgiving (they’re on sale, afterall). By the time Thanksgiving rolls around, you’ll be ready for a vegan day.

I speak from experience. Tonight I had a pile of greying turkey meat, with salsa, taco seasoning, and cheese (which I don’t normally eat, but I had to do something to entice myself to eat it). I am officially DONE with that turkey.

There has to be a better way. Right?

I could have frozen the meat when it was super fresh, in small baggies, to thaw and:

1) Toss into a quick soup (maybe organic chicken broth & some fresh chopped veggies)

2) Heat and serve over a bed of cauliflower rice.

3) Enjoy with a side of mashed sweet potatoes (cubed, boiled, mashed/whipped with my hand-held blender, with a little grass-fed butter).

And while the bird was still fresh, I could have gotten a little more creative. I could have made curried turkey salad (mix the chopped turkey with paleo mayo and curry seasoning blend…. serve with romaine lettuce or kale wraps, on celery, or top a green salad with a scoop of it).

Any other ideas?

Next time, I’ll be ready for the left-over turkey!

Leave a Reply

