Happy

Paleo is working for me, and I am so happy that I stumbled on eating this way. I am learning about how different foods effect me. Removing usual suspects of inflammation, I notice a big difference when I add some of them back in (for the sake of science).

I don’t think I have much reaction to dairy, or to corn. I can do an occasional taco on a hard shell, and feel just fine. I don’t get a surge of mucus, or have a “food hangover” the next day.

Compare that, on the other hand, to the two times during this last month that I have taken a couple bites of my husband’s red velvet cake, or similar grain-based, sugar-filled dessert. In the first few moments, I felt reeeeeaaaalllll goooooood.

Then, almost instantly, I started to feel bad.  Not psychologically “oh noes, I ate something evil”…  I feel physically bad. I feel on edge. I get snappy for no good reason. I become a not-nice person to be around.  And I just feel… not great. I’ll have to do more science so that I can describe the physical responses in the moment, since I am not doing a very good job right now.

That unprovoked moodiness used to happen a lot more than I would like to admit. It happened when I was very hungry, and it happened when I was very fed. Apparently, my blood sugar was pretty out of whack.

Now, when I got for a while between my meals, I am a lot less likely to fret. I have not once become Godzilla stomping around demanding to be fed immediately (my old standard routine).

At work, I can concentrate. I can read a case and research an issue without almost literally falling asleep at my desk every day.

When I am at the gym, I can RUN!  I don’t run for miles, but I walk a steady pace, and then bump up my speed occasionally for a joyful sprint.  For me to describe a sprint as a joyful thing is truly a wonder.

I was a fat mean lump, dieting and exercising like a good girl, yet getting nowhere. Work was difficult because I had no energy and I had trouble concentrating.  I was miserable a lot of the time.

Now, I feel good most of the time.

I have lost a total of 30lbs from my biggest weight, and I still have a minimum of 30lbs of fat to banish.

In the meantime, I am not worried about it anymore. I know I am not destined to be huge. My body is finally starting to regulate itself. 60+lbs. overweight was NOT my natural state after all. That is such a relief.

When I gained weight, I had the capacity to eat and eat and eat, and restricting my calories made me feel hungry and miserable.

Nowadays, I still keep track of my calories. It’s a habit after 2 years, and I use a very easy food tracking program (livestrong.com). Now, I track mostly to ensure that protein makes up about 30% of my daily macro-nutrient intake. What I have noticed, however, is that it’s not easy to get up to the calorie level I’ve set for myself.   And if I am not hungry, I certainly don’t try to force-feed myself.

Last night, after a good Paleo day, I ate my dinner of salmon (with the crispy, fatty salmon-skin!) and brussels sprouts.  After that, I decided to go nuts and have 2 squares of 88% dark chocolate.  I entered my calories and realized I still had a couple-hundred open. But I did not eat anything, because I was already completely sated.

There was nothing I wanted to eat.

It’s still amazing to me.  My life has changed in a month.

Now, it’s time for me to rassle up some breakfast.

Bacon & Blueberries? Chicken sausage and strawberries?  Lean steak and veggies?

Happy!

Leave a Reply

